Kezia Lee Mintra:

amazing !

Originally posted on MAKE:

Simon Park’s textile designs are created with social and antisocial bacteria.

These are examples from a series of works featuring purely biogenic designs, which explore the inherent creativity of, and which use nature, to directly generate textile designs. Physarum polycephalum is an intriguing and striking microorganism that exhibits simple “intelligence”. In this respect, it will move toward favourable and away from hostile environments, can solve a maze in its search for food, and has a primitive memory. The intricate yellow designs on the denim material are the living slime mould itself and more than this, are a visible expression of its intelligence as it explores its environment and searches for food. The living design moves at around 1mm per hour and its pattern changes as the slime mould responds “intelligently” to its environment.

[via Beyond the Beyond]

View original

Leave a Reply

winterdominatrix

*Gothic *Steampunk *Fetish Fashion * cool stuff for Adult Girls * [female equality and empowerment in the Lifestyle BD/SM realm] * Bard/Ovate/Druid )0( female *Aspergers

breathelighter

Reducing stress one exhale at a time

The Iris and the Lily

A photo blog connecting life and the natural world in and beyond the garden.

A Soul's Walk

Every day a soul must walk

Garden Windows

by Melissa LeGette

A Thing for Words

A lifelong writer's second-chance journey to a literary life.

Catastrophe Jones

Flash Fiction. Nightmares. This is where I bleed out the dark.

Photos by Emilio

"I never have taken a picture I've intended. They're always better or worse." ~~ Diane Arbus

Writing While Wineing

playing with prose & pinot noir

i of fashion

A FASHION BLOG WITH A SHARP TWIST

Windwalker

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kid Lit Reviews

A little goofy and original reviews 5 times a week.

Oran's Well

Voyages down under

come to timmy

I like to call it space poetry

Monica Shaughnessy

outside the manuscript

Best Of

My Favourite Things

Seth Adam Smith

Seeking the Northern Lights of Life

In Depth

Words are intelligent minds creativity of making a message....

Burning Fire Shut Up In My Bones

His word was in my heart like a burning fire shut up in my bones; I was weary of holding it back, and I could not (Jeremiah 20:9b).

Thoughts From An American Woman

Daily thoughts on my life as a Christian, a housewife and an Army mom

sharing me myself and i

Whatever Flows...

digitalgranny

Life through my camera lens.

dinnerfornoone

not the same procedure as every day

Ramblings From A Mum

This is my journey, my thoughts, my views, plain and simple and from my heart. Please travel with me and share, hopefully it will be an interesting trip.

Plus Ultra

Stories and photographs from places “further beyond”

Joyful Ploys

"Art is the only way to run away without leaving home." Twyla Tharp

The Apple Cider Vinegar Hub | ACV for Health | ACV Blog

Natural remedies and DIY health tutorials

Stuphblog

Stop all that goddamn whining. Look what happened to me today.

Iridescentfox

There are no foxes here

Last Train to QVille

A Wonderful Place to Visit

Heidie Makes

Add Twitter @HeidieMakes

Laura Macky

Journey of a body on this earth

Books, Movies, Poetry

A slice of my life in one piece of the web

Earth Message Press

Messages of love and guidance channelled by Kay Meade from a group of beings in the higher spiritual realms who call themselves 'The Circle of The Light of The Love Energy". Also Reiki treatments, Reiki training and attunement services offered by Peter Ashley and Kay Meade.

Slightly Reworded

My observations, experiences and insights while living in Asia

Life On Earth

'Putting it all together; taking it all apart.'

Adventures of a Dog Mom

my life. my dogs.

Inspirational Geek

Inspirational & creative ramblings of a self-confessed geek - Things I like, things I find and things I’m doing.

Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

art and practice

northwestphotos

Travel and Photography

Earth in black and white

A slice of real world

Part Time Monster

Nerd. Girl. Monster(s).

Sol de Dezembro

December Sun

OKF Philippines

OKF is the World’s No. 1 Aloe Juice Manufacturer and distributed exclusively in the Philippines by Oxford Distributions, Incorporated.

I Work Therefore I'm Not

Insights of a struggling traveller

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,100 other followers

