no no i’m ok -sigh-

or

your son still loves you even if you got it wrong

my son is ten and severely autistic as I have explained in the past, however we communicate well considering our situation and I treasure every moment I have with him as I do all my kids- even like when today he comes home proudly showing me what he has made that day at school-he attends a special needs school, he doesn’t learn the normal curriculum but does a special set of lessons which is mostly arty, today he came home with various projects along the lines of cardboard and paper creations which after a certain of explaining one can understand what they are.

The next creation he showed me was a tiny decoration made from some kind of plastic, it was pretty and small maybe to go on a christmas tree, rectangular in shape about 3 inches with a tiny pattern on it of  what looked like two butterflies and the word ‘ mam‘ on it all drawn in my sons wonderful style and I was so happy and proud and well it was one of those wonderful –i’m a mum and so full of love for my wonderful children-moment.

ok so you get the picture I am sat wiping proud happy tears from my eyes and son doesn’t register this- because of his autism he does not recognise emotions nor understand them its a concept he does  not get, so he is carrying on with his explanation of his day and part way through runs to the toilet – another thing he does not quite have the hang of yet but is doing well- and in doing so drops the tiny decoration with mum on it.

Son comes back and finishes off his recounting of the day and gathers up his various creations; he gives me all the paper cardboard ones saying I can keep them, he does not give me the tiny one and I say “I love these son I really do, but can I also have the tiny one that says mum as well? I love that one the best”

Son looks very confused at me looks around and say he didn’t make one with mum on it, I point to the tiny one and say “that one its lovely and says mum across the bottom under the butterflies” I am proudly pointing to the tiny one my face all shining with love etc etc

Son looks at me oddly again and then comes over to my bed and shows me the tiny decoration and turns it on its side and says”it doesn’t say mum it says ‘egg man’ duh from Mario!”

and slowly I get it my son is obsessed with all things Mario and Sonic (two computer game characters, egg man is one of their foes) the tiny decoration when put on its side the butterflies were in fact the two g’s from the word egg man and mum was the man bit, so it was not as I thought but in fact my sons rendering of the words ‘egg man‘ in fancy writing.

My face did that clever mum thing you know the one where you smile and still show the love and pride but inside you crumble as you realise you got all soppy about something that was not at all what you thought

oh well my son is happy and healthy and I know in his own way he loves me and even of he didn’t it wouldn’t matter and wouldn’t stop me loving him^_^

but  I may still hang it sideways on my tree and tell people it says mum with butterflies

I will get away with it as long as he doesn’t hear me ^_^

love to all have a wonderful day

xx

7 responses

  1. Of course he loves you Kizzy – you’re his mum. Got me all teared up now.

    1. aww honey don’t worry i know my son inside and out and i know he loves me i may be the only person in the world he likes or will talk to but i know how he works and i don’t worry, there are many other things i do worry about his future for one thing- that loses me many nights sleep -but i try not to let him see any of my worries, children are only children for a short time and i try my best to let them be children and have fun and no worries, he is right now happy eating and indulging in his obsession of looking up mario and sonic on the interwebby ^_^ soon he will go to bed happy and as long as he is happy then i am happy ^_^ so now you have to be happy too i don’t want to worry about you as well ^_^ so hugs and love to you my friend xx

  2. You are now officially the best “egg mum” ever! Beautiful story Kizz…xo

    1. aww thank you my gorgeous rhinda i love that ‘egg mum’ i shall keep that one ^_^ love and hugs to you my wonderful friend xx

  3. Awwwwwwwwwwww. Maybe Mum is just a good ‘egg’, huh? Heartwarming story. 😉

    1. aww thanks, my son has not long gone to bed and before he went he popped his head round my door and asked if he had broken my heart -as i said he does not understand emotions but he doesn’t like it if i am unhappy – so i promised him i was happy and not to worry and if he wanted to he could make me a decoration that did say mum but he shook his head and said no he had already made one and that was enough, ahh well the night is quiet and all my children are asleep now and so i will sleep too i think and see what tomorrow brings have a lovely evening and thanks for dropping by take care x

Leave a Reply

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

The Big Séance

My Paranormal World...

Macy Afterlife: The Beacon

Exploring our spiritual heritage, our ancient other-worldly roots, and our paradise destiny

A Midnight Rider

Riding the South Coast of Massachusetts and Rhode Island

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

VIVIMETALIUN

🌵O que te separa da vida dos seus sonhos é só o salto. Pule. O universo coloca o chão debaixo dos seus pés.🌵

agenda19892010

The value of those societies in which the capitalist mode of production prevails, present itself as "an immense accumulation of commodities", its unit being a single commodity --- Karl Marx

Living Green newsflash

current health briefs & recipes

Tears in the sky

Words for a rainy day

Appleboat Express

Writing Between the Lines

teessidelassinnovascotia

My Year Abroad in Canada

Lisa Scullard

- Just another indie author letting things get out of hand :)

T. Wharton Johnson

Writing and Illustrating

Hollywood Therapy: Anxiety Therapy Los Angeles

Psychotherapy for Anxiety, Depression, Trauma, Sensitivity & Creative Issues

Life Unscripted

Life doesn’t have to be scripted, planned, and pre-defined. Embrace the slips and falls, celebrate the uncertainty, revel in the unexpected.

Karen Gadient

Paint Slinger in Inner Space

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

zealsofttechnologysolutions

Zealsoft Technology Solutions(ZTS) PVT LTD, the leading IT solution company is known for it's pioneering work in the field of IT education, training, consulting, web and multimedia. Our strong research orientation has helped us continuously innovate and implement cutting-edge technologies.

Ace News Services

" This is our daily news that we feel is important & we want to tell people about the truth behind the story "

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

The paranormal chronicles.com

Paranormal News, Video, Audio and Reports

My Mind's Journal

Exploring the hidden chapters of my mind

Port Hopping

All I want is to travel and eat good food.

Ghostly World™

"Exploring the Paranormal...Normally™"

Cool Readers

For Every Book Lover!

Living among Spirits

Realistic, uncut, and honest accounts of the paranormal.

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Reverend Hellfire's Sunday Sermon

Poetic Rantings from a Ratbag Reverend

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

The Story of a Guy

Just a journey through the eyes of a guy

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

MacKENZIE's Dragon's Nest

Where the wild and wondrous play!

Eat Books For Breakfast

A Young Adult Dystopian, Science Fiction, and Fantasy Book Blog

Mostly Short Fiction

Windswept Writing

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Auntie Doris

Born 1914, Died 1995, Blogging since 2013

Capybara Paranormal

There is more to life than living

scratbagroberts

This is a technology blog

the itch writes

i am the itch, and these are my stories.

