the heartfelt loss of another hero

or

mickey rooney dies at 93

 

 

I know perhaps when people say think of a hero not many would say mickey rooney, but I am not most people as I am sure you have by now realised, and to me and I hope one or two others he was one hell of a hero

what makes a hero? a ‘hero’ it’s quite a hard title to earn really isn’t it. To me mickey is a hero because I grew up and still to this day and beyond adoring all old black and white movies, it is a known fact in our house that during the course of an afternoon you will at some point here the stampede of my children running from the front room shouting ‘mum’s watching old people’s stuff again’ it is a very effective way of clearing the front room ^_^

but those old movies and yes even some of the old colour ones  I adore, they bring to me another world, not one that ever really existed it’s more the presentation of an ideal world, one where people are kind and respectful, one where jonny wins the day and the girls heart because he did the right thing, a world where neighbours pull together in hard times, a world where over the rainbow really exists and a world where a good song a jolly dance and we are all happy.

To me all those films represent ‘it’s a wonderful life’ and yes I make the kids watch that one with me religiously every christmas ^_^ and part of all this magic is the wonderful mickey rooney, he had that fabulous face just to see him grin would make me smile, when he talked I listened and listened long as he wove that magic world around me, brought it to  life and etched it on my memory, to me mickey is that magic along with the likes of judy garland, fred astaire, cary grant, audrey hepburn, humphrey bogart, gene kelly, I could go on but I won’t, I am sure these names and many more are familiar to everyone and yet it’s many years since any of those films they starred in have been made, yet even today their legend is so strong you are hard pushed to find someone who doesn’t recognise their names.

so to me mickey rooney is a hero, he brought magic and wonder, he brought other worlds to life and he helped many people forget their own troubles, and isn’t that one of the best types of magic anyone can experience? to be safely and magically swept away from the hardship or just mundane lives to another place and entertained in such a way that when they are landed back in reality it is somehow a little changed, for the better? or for the diehards who insist their live may well be the same I still say well for me and countless others mickey rooney was a hero, a star, and for the hour and half of each film he made he took us on a journey, and we loved every minute, and for me my life WAS better for him being in it, for his films being part of it and for his smile brightening up my world and I thank him for being that hero

goodnight god bless mickey you are and always be a hero in my eyes

xx

band5c

 

 

12 responses

  1. Oh I also love the oldies – I have quite a few DVDs that my wife looks at in amazement and bemusement. I really like Harvey with Jimmy Stewart and Arsenic and Old Lace too. These films have stood the test of time. Mickey was a star in the real sense not a 5 minute wonder. A nice tribute.

    1. hey thats great i don’t often find anyone who understands my love of old films so it brilliant to find a kindred spirit i do not have much of a collection but it mostly consists of cary grant and fred astaire films i never have enough money to really buy all the ones i want! i probably wouldn’t have enough space to store all the ones i want ^_^ i love those that are light hearted like easter bonnet but i also love those with a message such as wonderful life in fact i just about love them all even the ghost ones to me are much more effective than todays attempts at such stuff the old ones have atmosphere and that is hard to reproduce glad to have you as a fellow member of the olds films appreciation club ^_^ take care and have a great day

      1. When I was a teenager I would stay up on a Friday night with my late father and have a beer together. We would watch the Hammer Horror films – dad found them amusing even though they were supposed to be scary. From Bela Lugosi to Peter Cushing and Vincent Price he always liked the horror movies. Mum went to bed and didn’t understand!

      2. thats so brilliant friday was the one night mum used to let me stay up late i used to sleep on the floor after scaring myself silly watching hammer house of horror while she got drunk ahh such happy family times or at least it was the happiest we ever got in our house ^_^ i loved it and somewhere along the line it must have influenced me because i am now a happy horror writer! but i would never have connected the two until you mentioned it was i guess a supressed memory or something like that but glad you triggered it as now i realise why i am so addicted to hammer house of horror oh the best i remember was hill house oh my that bit where the shadows move across the ceiling that had me freaked for years and i still can’t watch it alone ^_^ i have watched the remake since then as it was nothing compared to the original! i think i may have to add a page on my blog of fantastic old films ! ^_^

  2. I’m not normal then either Kizz…I adore old movies, would rather watch one of those 10 times over than a new one. My memories of Mickey (and Judy) films garner that same smile I imagine on your face. I love the simplicity, the tenderness, the common sense, the respect of the by gone days of his films. He was a master at his craft for he had generations of children believing life was kind and fair…time enough for us to learn on our own that it is not always so…but better for it because we could imagine it that way…and maybe work a little harder to see it happen in real life….good to see you love…have missed you…xoxo

    1. hiya my gorgeous rhinda i have been a wee bit poorly chest pains suspected heart attack that sort of thing you know me i dont do things by halves ^_^ ah well back with the word now and hopefully feeling well for a while working my way through my latest book which is now so long it has turned into trilogy ^_^ i ain’t done of them before ^_^ glad to see you loved mickey as i do one day we should find ourselves in the same part of the world and have a marathon of choclates and old movies that would be excellent ! love you heap loads my rhinda be well love and hugs always xx

      1. Argh…I am most heartedly sorry to hear of the latest health news…I am praying that what you suspected was not the case? Dearest Kizzy, I know you have the spirit and wherewithal of a hundred, but please take care of you…and it’s on my bucket list to again be in the country I’ve decided to adopt…fear not…where there’s a will, there’s a way…to be on that shore once again. Until then, I’m there in spirit…xoxo

      2. please don’t worry my lovely,
        doc gave me more tablets and upped the amount of have of others, i am rattling yes but no more chest pains, so doing good right now, i don’t dwell i have no time for it ^_^ i am feeling better now than i have for a while and that is always a good sign love and hugs my friend and no worrying it’s not allowed ^_^

      3. okay. maybe. will try. just don’t disappear!

  3. I love old movies, and felt sad too when I heard of Mickey Rooney’s passing. You’re right he was a hero to many of us. thanks for this heartfelt post!

    1. hiya my lovely friend good to hear from you and yup i know not many would put me the bracket of loves old movies but i do and always have done and he was a true gent as they say, sometimes it seems some people are larger than life, like they could always exist above and beyond this mortal plane and i think mickey is one of them, he is a legend and his name will live on,
      thank you for dropping by and i hope you have a wonderful weekend x

      1. Thank you and I hope you have a wonderful weekend too!

Leave a Reply

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

The Big Séance

My Paranormal World...

Macy Afterlife: The Beacon

Exploring our spiritual heritage, our ancient other-worldly roots, and our paradise destiny

A Midnight Rider

Riding the South Coast of Massachusetts and Rhode Island

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

VIVIMETALIUN

🌵O que te separa da vida dos seus sonhos é só o salto. Pule. O universo coloca o chão debaixo dos seus pés.🌵

agenda19892010

The value of those societies in which the capitalist mode of production prevails, present itself as "an immense accumulation of commodities", its unit being a single commodity --- Karl Marx

Living Green newsflash

current health briefs & recipes

Tears in the sky

Words for a rainy day

Appleboat Express

Writing Between the Lines

teessidelassinnovascotia

My Year Abroad in Canada

Lisa Scullard

- Just another indie author letting things get out of hand :)

T. Wharton Johnson

Writing and Illustrating

Hollywood Therapy: Writing & Career Coach

CALL FOR FREE WRITING ADVICE 310-850-4707 - GET YOUR CAREER MOVING!! Need start your script? Need help to Finish Your Script? Finished and wonder "What's next?" Want a Studio Job? Call me FREE 310-850-4707

Life Unscripted

Life doesn’t have to be scripted, planned, and pre-defined. Embrace the slips and falls, celebrate the uncertainty, revel in the unexpected.

Karen Gadient

Paint Slinger in Inner Space

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

zealsofttechnologysolutions

Zealsoft Technology Solutions(ZTS) PVT LTD, the leading IT solution company is known for it's pioneering work in the field of IT education, training, consulting, web and multimedia. Our strong research orientation has helped us continuously innovate and implement cutting-edge technologies.

Ace News Services

" This is our daily news that we feel is important & we want to tell people about the truth behind the story "

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

The paranormal chronicles.com

Paranormal News, Video, Audio and Reports

My Mind's Journal

Exploring the hidden chapters of my mind

Port Hopping

All I want is to travel and eat good food.

Ghostly World™

"Exploring the Paranormal...Normally™"

Cool Readers

For Every Book Lover!

Living among Spirits

Realistic, uncut, and honest accounts of the paranormal.

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Reverend Hellfire's Sunday Sermon

Poetic Rantings from a Ratbag Reverend

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

The Story of a Guy

Just a journey through the eyes of a guy

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

MacKENZIE's Dragon's Nest

Where the wild and wondrous play!

Eat Books For Breakfast

A Young Adult Dystopian, Science Fiction, and Fantasy Book Blog

Mostly Short Fiction

Windswept Writing

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Auntie Doris

Born 1914, Died 1995, Blogging since 2013

Capybara Paranormal

There is more to life than living

scratbagroberts

This is a technology blog

the itch writes

i am the itch, and these are my stories.

