H. R. Giger, another hero

with heartfelt sorrow I learn the sad news of another great hero of mine- H R Giger,

the amazing art of H R Giger

the amazing art of H R Giger

Giger was in the truest sense of the word an artist, and that title I do not give out easily, in looking closer at what being an artist is or means to me it is quite simple, Giger could draw and draw amazingly, his pictures were so true to life it was unreal, but that alone does not make an artist, many people can draw some can draw really well to the point of it looks as good as a photograph and the world is full of these people, they are not artists in my book.

a sculpture by H R Giger

a sculpture by H R Giger

Some people have ideas brilliant ideas but they lack the talent to pull off those ideas and I place myself completely in this bracket, and still they are not artists,

the art of H R Giger

picture source

to be an artist is to be as Giger, someone who can not just draw fantastically well but has the ideas to draw to commit to paper or wood or any chosen medium and Giger could do all this and better than that, what he drew took you to another world, he showed you places, people, hybrid creatures you could not conceive of until he took you there.

the art of H R Giger

 

Giger drew the future and then that future became real. the future he drew I and many others fell in love with, Giger drew a world where I wanted to be, he was a direct influence on me especially in my youth when I first gasped in wonder and awe at his creations; he gave me a vision of the world as I saw it inside my head and he showed me I was not alone because he was a man who saw it also, he saw right into my dreams and painted them, and again more than that these images were not just out of this world, amazing, awe inducing, they had depth, to look into the face of those hybrid creatures gave me not just that world but how that creature felt as part of that world.

H.R.Giger Art 59

when people ask me why I write what influences me, I often stumble because I know they are expecting me to mention other authors past or present, it is the same with musicians often they write music, or play an instrument and yet people are not happy until they can label these musicians in reference to other musicians, my fave example is always Wolfmother,- main man Andrew Stockdale writes excellent music, he plays guitar really well, but the media simply have to label so he is burdened with –oh they are a led zep crossed with ac dc type band rubbish! they are a band who play the music they like!

the art of H R Giger

picture source

and so with authors – for myself I can only comment but I do not find myself influenced by any other authors those authors I really admire write comedy and I write horror so no labeling there, but still the interviewer is not happy; oh but you must have some one who inspires you they insist and that my dear reader is a question I can answer;- for yes amazing people like H R Giger inspire me, to see even one of his pictures is enough to set me off writing a book, to see more is enough for me to write a series, and so do not label me in the style of Lewis Carroll because that would not help anyone and is in fact misleading! Mr Carroll I do admire with all my heart but he is much nicer than me he tends to go for the happy ending ^_^ whereas I am not happy until I kill all my characters ^_^ it is just this nihilistic attitude I have, and that attitude is inspired by, yes you guessed it, by the likes of the amazing Mr Giger.

the art of H R Giger

picture source

to wake up and hear the news that the world no longer contains Mr Giger upset the whole day and even the next day or two for me, there was a black cloud on the horizon and it overtook the sky and I would cry, because the world needs heroes, the world needs the visionaries like Giger we the people need those artists like Giger, artists that inspire, that draw incredulity, that show us new and exciting possibilities and to me, and I am sure many others, the world is now not the same, a light has gone out and if I had one prayer for the world, for humanity, for our future, it is that I really hope a new person is out there not to take his place but to be their own person and inspire us all and show us visions that leave us in awe, that leave us wanting more and that show us creation and vision are alive and well and contributing to the consciousness of the human experience.

the art of H R Giger

picture source

so my fullest respects to H R Giger and family and friends

 

because this is not the only artist I find inspiring and amazing I am very much a surrealist at heart and love such a lot of art work I will start a new section to be labelled simply ART at the top along with my many other sections for you to peruse ^_^

have a great day everyone

xx

16 responses

  1. What a beautiful, personal tribute to an artist who has so informed your own passions…xo

    1. thank you my gorgeous mims, I know most people will just mention the alien movies and that is it I wanted to show he made so muc more of an impact on the world than alien movie series his work was brilliant on those movies and i know many will admire hhim for that laone and he deserves that but I think he deserves much more I know i never really watched the movies they were not to my taste really but from the first moment of seeing his work many years ago I was hooked and have remained dedicated ever since good to hear from you mims sorry I have been quiet but you appreciate when I am poorly and i know that so glad though to hear your voice each time I make it back into the world hope you have been well or at least not been too poorly hope you are still enjoying your peace and give all your wonderful gorgeous dogs hugs from me ^_^ have a great day mims love and hugs to you always my wonderful friend xx

  2. Wonderful tribute to an amazing artist.

    1. thank you my friend I had to share I believe I already told everyone I know here in my little home town which did result in many simply looking at me like I had gone mad, unfortunately in this little english town they are not given to appreciating art in any form other than the spray painted signatures of misguided youths, I will always consider myself lucky for having been aware of great art from a young age, thank you my friend for dropping by I hope you have a lovely day x

  3. Wow. What a heartfelt post, Kizzy. I am not familiar with H. R. Giger but have been exposed through you. A wonderful tribute to an artist you admire.

    1. hello my lovely how good to hear from you, i am sorry i have been ill for a longer than usual period this time around but hopefully i am on the way through now of this particular attack, thank you for reading and being a lovely friend in keeping up with me i do appreciate your friendship and i am so glad i could share mr Giger with you, as i mentioned to mims earlier most people will have come across his work through the alien movies, all the aliens were his work, but to me he was always more than that, as i found him before the movies and i loved his worked before during and after, his techniques for airbrushing i am still amazed at and could never hope to emulate, i remain always inspired by his work and will no doubt be still writing books inspired by his work until i can no longer write ^_^ hope you have been keeping well my lovely friend and i hope you have a lovely day love and hugs xx

      1. I see your passion for his work. I do adore talent and he sounds extreme in that department.
        Keep well, my friend. Don’t overdo. ❤

  4. Fusing the erotic, gothic and surreal Giger was an art movement unto himself. He inspired me from an early age with his fantastic dreamscapes and esoteric imagery. I was compelled to illustrate a tribute to him this week drawing imagery from his own works including Alien and the Birthing Machine at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2014/05/in-memoriam-hr-giger.html . Drop by and share how his artwork opened your own mind!

    1. hiya, first thank you for dropping by and leaving your comment i love to meet fellow gigerians ^_^ but also second thank you for leaving me the link to your work i have now had a good look around all your site and your work, i have to say i admire your work and think it is great you are a man of great talent and i like your ideas i shall keep visiting to see more of what you are up to as i am definitely now a fan of your art thank you , hope you have a great day my friend, take care, be well and stay productive x

  5. This art is astounding. I am going to research and learn more. Not just because of the art, but because of your lovely from the heart post. Thank you. and thank you so much for finding my blog and following. I hope you will visit often. It is a mishmash but the heart wants what the heart wants.

    1. hi and glad you found giger i found him amazing from the very first time thank you also for becoming my new friend and for leaving me this lovely message i do keep up with all my blogs i follow but i tend to do it in turns so each day i pick someone then spend a few hours going through all their blog catching up it all depends on whose turn it is as to who i go catch up with but never fear i always get there in the end its just i do follow a lot of people and they all have lovely blogs it is a lovely sunny sunday here i hope you are having a lovely sunny day also take care x

  6. A sad day. I believe the poor man fell down the steps, nothing more than that. And now he’s gone. A true artist, as you say. That first time I saw Alien… something was impressed upon my brain that has still not dislodged itslef – and nor would I want it to.

    1. hey trentle long time no hear and all that ^_^ yup the world loses another visionary glad though to hear you are a fellow gigerian ^_^ hope you and yours have been having a nice time and feeling good we have the most uncharacteristic sunshine i think it is affecting me i need some rain and stormy weather i simply am not made for all this shiny stuff ^_^ good to hear from you as always trentle my friend take care be well and have a great monday xx

      1. Brutally busy at work, the hours are piling up and not a word is being written when I desperately need to do just that. But that’s life.

      2. you sound stressed my dear brother, as soon as you can take time to go somewhere with just you and wife, spend some time just being yourselves and thinking of nothing but the next minute, all work and no play not a good life:( remember as soon as you can then do it you need to chill, i suggest a spa or perhaps even a night at the cinema anything just go do it and do not think about tomorrow it will happen soon enough and you sound close to burn out to me and if you are stressed then your wife is also, i am sending you positive thoughts, my brother take time and enjoy life,
        love and hugs and all good things be well my wonderful tinternetty brother and remember i shall stand ok i shall sit here with crossed arms until you have taken time off ^_^ xx

      3. Stressed and overworked, but all is well. I just need my time to write, when I don’t get it, I get antsy. My time off is coming, I am heading to the UK tomorrow for a fairly easy business trip, so that will be fun.

Leave a Reply

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

The Big Séance

My Paranormal World...

Macy Afterlife: The Beacon

Exploring our spiritual heritage, our ancient other-worldly roots, and our paradise destiny

A Midnight Rider

Riding the South Coast of Massachusetts and Rhode Island

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

VIVIMETALIUN

🌵O que te separa da vida dos seus sonhos é só o salto. Pule. O universo coloca o chão debaixo dos seus pés.🌵

agenda19892010

The value of those societies in which the capitalist mode of production prevails, present itself as "an immense accumulation of commodities", its unit being a single commodity --- Karl Marx

Living Green newsflash

current health briefs & recipes

Tears in the sky

Words for a rainy day

Appleboat Express

Writing Between the Lines

teessidelassinnovascotia

My Year Abroad in Canada

Lisa Scullard

- Just another indie author letting things get out of hand :)

T. Wharton Johnson

Writing and Illustrating

Hollywood Therapy: Anxiety Therapy Los Angeles

Psychotherapy for Anxiety, Depression, Trauma, Sensitivity & Creative Issues

Life Unscripted

Life doesn’t have to be scripted, planned, and pre-defined. Embrace the slips and falls, celebrate the uncertainty, revel in the unexpected.

Karen Gadient

Paint Slinger in Inner Space

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

zealsofttechnologysolutions

Zealsoft Technology Solutions(ZTS) PVT LTD, the leading IT solution company is known for it's pioneering work in the field of IT education, training, consulting, web and multimedia. Our strong research orientation has helped us continuously innovate and implement cutting-edge technologies.

Ace News Services

" This is our daily news that we feel is important & we want to tell people about the truth behind the story "

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

The paranormal chronicles.com

Paranormal News, Video, Audio and Reports

My Mind's Journal

Exploring the hidden chapters of my mind

Port Hopping

All I want is to travel and eat good food.

Ghostly World™

"Exploring the Paranormal...Normally™"

Cool Readers

For Every Book Lover!

Living among Spirits

Realistic, uncut, and honest accounts of the paranormal.

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Reverend Hellfire's Sunday Sermon

Poetic Rantings from a Ratbag Reverend

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

The Story of a Guy

Just a journey through the eyes of a guy

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

MacKENZIE's Dragon's Nest

Where the wild and wondrous play!

Eat Books For Breakfast

A Young Adult Dystopian, Science Fiction, and Fantasy Book Blog

Mostly Short Fiction

Windswept Writing

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Auntie Doris

Born 1914, Died 1995, Blogging since 2013

Capybara Paranormal

There is more to life than living

scratbagroberts

This is a technology blog

the itch writes

i am the itch, and these are my stories.

