okay its review time ^_^ little barrie live at leeds june 2014

 

ok so I know it has taken me some time to write this, I wanted to make sure I did a good post without too much of me drooling over barrie cadogan ^_^ so now that we have got that out of the way lets begin

june 11th leeds the cockpit

after two days of nervous breakdown I finally was on my way to the cockpit and was so nervous my god I could not concentrate on anything! its not often well in fact it had never happened before in my whole life but here I was going to see my most fave group ever little barrie,

 

I swear I was even having trouble walking, oh wait I always have trouble walking, ok I was even having trouble hobbling along on my crutches ^_^ so it was hardly surprising that on walking into the cockpit it very soon became obvious I was the very first person to arrive.

ok brace yourselves because the next bit is awesome, as soon as I walked into the room right in front of me there he was! oh my I was completely starstruck,  I would probably have fainted but for the fact I was not alone ^_^ so there I was hyperventilating  as the subject of my dreams  lead singer/guitarist barrie cadogan was stood right there in front of me, luckily  the person I was with was not as insane as I was and dragged me over to where Barrie was standing and I just about managed to speak enough words garbled as they were to buy their latest cd shadow

and I even was lucky enough that both Barrie and Lewis signed the cd for me and did not once joke about how strange I was acting how kind is that ^_^ virgil I was told was still sleeping but no worries because he kindly signed my cd at the end just before I completely collapsed -no not from swooning this time though that would have been just as embarrassing- I was unfortunately very ill sigh managed to suffer one of my attacks think it was my nerves bringing it on oh well on with the show

so there were two support acts the first was called knuckle and consisted of a bloke on guitar and a bloke on drums. Now I actually didn’t mind these they were ok, they played well and their tunes were okay. I had one small point that just kinda lost it for me and that was the singer/guitarist bloke kept starting a tune and I would be getting into it and listening and then for no good reason I could find he would suddenly scream/screech into the microphone! it was quite unsettling, it didn’t add anything to the tune nor did it sound any good,  so really if they ever read this review then I have to say – good act you could do well if you find your own voice and get rid of the screaming screeching thing.

Next up was an act that had more members, a bloke on drums,  bloke on guitar, and one on bass I think, and a lead singer and they were called gil de ray, now this one is a little more difficult for me to talk about. I really don’t like to say anything if it isn’t positive and kind, ok the drummer was fine, bassist was fine, and well if this band seriously want to make it I am sorry to have to say you either need another singer or if you stick with that one then please get him singing lessons, also the guitarist needs a little more practice in playing also. I really am sorry to have to say such things but I have to be honest, now whether it was just something not right on the night and I do accept there was trouble with one or two gremlins affecting equipment and to be honest sound mixing guy was not really doing the best job he could, again though he may have been battling against gremlins also and I must point out I am very very critical with live music. Over the years I have been to many gigs and many festivals, from glasto to tiny fringe festivals as well as gigs from joe satriani to the cramps and I always am very observant and listen and notice every detail I can not just because that is the way I am but also because I am always conscious of  the whole -‘that point in time- I like to immerse myself in every single detail of that particular moment because it will never come again.

 

It works because for me to be this way;- to this day I can recall every detail of being stood in the pouring rain watching the cure or stood so close the speaker which was larger than me in the jamaican tent at glastonbury and feeling the bass shake every atom of my body -these times will never come again and so I commit them to memory for good or bad it is all part of it.

so please gil de ray please do not think I am just having a go or trying to run you down  I really want you to be successful I want you to have all that you wish to achieve but in going for your dream then you have to work out are you there to please those of us who make constructive criticism? or are you there to achieve a vision you want without any input from others? if you have a vision that does not include input go for it, do what you’re doing and do it with complete sincerity, if however you wish to listen to the likes of little old me then singing lesson and guitar lessons it is, the choice is yours^_^

okay now on to the super excellent little barrie firstly I have to say yes I was so ill I nearly had to leave but I clung on knowing I may never get to see them again but my attention was by now taken over with being ill the pain had hit me pretty bad and the damn medications the doctor has me was literally beating me up! the cockpit staff were fantastic and even brought me a chair to sit (how kind is that I cannot praise them highly enough I recommend any who suffer any kind of disability to not let it put you off there are still fantastic places like the cockpit leeds who are very welcoming and eager to help you enjoy the night and they really made the night perfect for me) on and on top of all this like I mentioned gremlins were into everything.

despite it all though little barrie came on and immediately the change was obvious, this was quality music, this group mean business and they can rock it out regardless of gremlins/my stupid meds/my stupid sickness and they did just that they were brilliant and I still thought that over being stupidly ill and medicated within an inch of my life their sound was spot on, their tunes were perfect and every single moment was excellent. I am often critical of many bands who sound good on record yes I am a vinyl fan but also even if they sound good on cd as well but when it comes to playing live so many groups even those who are rolling in fame and fortune can still be crap live, not so with little barrie you can tell these cut their teeth on playing gig after gig they can pull the tunes and the sound no matter what situation or what they are given to work with and that shows true talent no one can take that away from them, virgil pounded those drums never missing a beat god love him, lewis as always super cool bass man and of course the love of my life barrie made that guitar sing and they proved to me why I love little barrie they are still the only group I have ever come across where I like ALL their tunes and that has never happened to me with any other band not only is their sound the sound for me their music makes me shiver it is that good and now I know they are just as good and are in fact excellent live

so go to it boys keep playing that sexy music

because

you rocked!

so here you go that night will always rank now as the best night of my life and not only do I have the most excellent memory of a rocking good show but I have a signed cd which I can drool over ^_^

ok my one regret was that in my super awkward starstruck specialness I did not have the courage to ask for a photo so my only mission since is to one day get a photo of them I did try to get a few of the night but I only had my daughters phone which I could not for the life of me workout out to take a picture but I think I ended up accidentally phoning some of her friends ^_^

 

love and happy times to all

xx

 

12 responses

  1. What an amazing night!! I’m so glad you had such a tremendous time!

    1. hiya my gorgeous mims and yes how lucky was i ^_^ i shall always consider my life perfect now i have seen little barrie live only hing make it any better now would be to meet them again but that would be a bonus to an already happy girl ^_^ have a great day mims love and hugs to you always xx

  2. That’s just BRILLIANT Kizzy! What a fantastic group – I’m sorry that you felt so rotten though – still – WOW – what a grand memory to have. Not to mention the cd! 🙂 X

    1. hiya jo ^_^ ahh i am used to being ill only thing that did my head in a little was i would have loved to have been able to dance but tis just a little thing the fact is I was there and barrie cadogan talked to me ^_^ now i know he was only asking my name so he could sign my cd but the important thing was he talked to me and i swooned but didn’t actually faint ^_^ aahhh how sweet is life ^_^ for that one moment alone i consider my life happy and lucky ^_^ have a great day jo love and hugs to you xx

  3. Wow you had one of those awesome, never to forget kind of night. So happy for you!

    1. hiya mary ^_^ and yup I certainly did the whole experience was fantastic amnd I would never ask for more I will lawyas thank my lucky stars for that one night in my life surreal as it felt at the time and looking back now it was a dream come true I really am very lucky, thank you my friend for dropping by i hope you have a fab monday x

  4. EX-CEL-LENT! You rock. Glad to got to see the band in person. Thank you for a rocking review of the evening. 😀 😀 😀

    1. thank you my lovely it really was the best night of my life, they play in london tomorrow but i can not go it might as well be on other side of moon but i have my cd and more than happy with that besides next time i probably will swoon clean away at his feet ^_^ ah well good to hear from you my lovely have a fab day love and hugs xx

      1. Forgive my mashed typing.
        You are welcome. Nice to see you happy. Take care.

  5. Dude Kizzy, that is so awesome, sounds like it was a great time. Next time a photo is definitely in order.

    1. hey trentle my one and only virtual brother thank you and see how good your advice was ^_^ because i listened to you i had the very best night of my life and i own a cd with two yes you read it right two kisses on it from barrie himself how excellent is that ^_^ its my goto thing when i am down i go to my cd and read what barrie wrote and smile and instantly i am not down anymore ^_^ so thank you my friend my brother my excellent advice giver and yup next time i shall master the art of talking while hyperventilating ^_^ or get whoever is with me to translate my nervous scrambled words into ‘please can i have a picture’ ^_^ now i just have to figure out how to make sure there is a next time ^_^ wonderful to hear from you and i hope life is treating you and yours well take care my wonderful brother and have a super day xx

      1. I’m just so glad you went. Really makes me glad, and so happy that it worked out.

Leave a Reply

Black America Web

Entertainment, News and Lifestyle for African Americans

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

The Big Séance

My Paranormal World...

Macy Afterlife: The Beacon

Exploring our spiritual heritage, our ancient other-worldly roots, and our paradise destiny

A Midnight Rider

Riding the South Coast of Massachusetts and Rhode Island

Annette Rochelle Aben

~ Communicator, WordSmith, Artist, Guide, Mentor, Muse ~

VIVIMETALIUN

🌵O que te separa da vida dos seus sonhos é só o salto. Pule. O universo coloca o chão debaixo dos seus pés.🌵

agenda19892010

The value of those societies in which the capitalist mode of production prevails, present itself as "an immense accumulation of commodities", its unit being a single commodity --- Karl Marx

Living Green newsflash

current health briefs & recipes

Tears in the sky

Words for a rainy day

Appleboat Express

Writing Between the Lines

teessidelassinnovascotia

My Year Abroad in Canada

Lisa Scullard

- Just another indie author letting things get out of hand :)

T. Wharton Johnson

Writing and Illustrating

Hollywood Therapy: Anxiety Therapy Los Angeles

Psychotherapy for Anxiety, Depression, Trauma, Sensitivity & Creative Issues

Life Unscripted

Life doesn’t have to be scripted, planned, and pre-defined. Embrace the slips and falls, celebrate the uncertainty, revel in the unexpected.

Karen Gadient

Paint Slinger in Inner Space

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

zealsofttechnologysolutions

Zealsoft Technology Solutions(ZTS) PVT LTD, the leading IT solution company is known for it's pioneering work in the field of IT education, training, consulting, web and multimedia. Our strong research orientation has helped us continuously innovate and implement cutting-edge technologies.

Ace News Services

" This is our daily news that we feel is important & we want to tell people about the truth behind the story "

teleportingweena

~wandering through life in my time machine...you never know where it will stop next~

The paranormal chronicles.com

Paranormal News, Video, Audio and Reports

My Mind's Journal

Exploring the hidden chapters of my mind

Port Hopping

All I want is to travel and eat good food.

Ghostly World™

"Exploring the Paranormal...Normally™"

Cool Readers

For Every Book Lover!

Living among Spirits

Realistic, uncut, and honest accounts of the paranormal.

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

Reverend Hellfire's Sunday Sermon

Poetic Rantings from a Ratbag Reverend

restlessjo

Roaming, at home and abroad

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

fourwindowspress

creative writing, pastel art, and essays

The Story of a Guy

Just a journey through the eyes of a guy

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

MacKENZIE's Dragon's Nest

Where the wild and wondrous play!

Eat Books For Breakfast

A Young Adult Dystopian, Science Fiction, and Fantasy Book Blog

Mostly Short Fiction

Windswept Writing

raulconde001

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Auntie Doris

Born 1914, Died 1995, Blogging since 2013

Capybara Paranormal

There is more to life than living

scratbagroberts

This is a technology blog

the itch writes

i am the itch, and these are my stories.

